Teknikally Insane
Either this is your first time, or you're currently not logged in...

If this is your first time here, take the time to sign up. It literally takes only a few minutes and it will help the site grow. Sure, you have to sign over your soul, and sacrifice a three-headed goat to the gods of Narheplottemer, but it's well worth it. Alright, so you don't have to do that stuff, but what you *must* do is sign up, seriously, this site gets so much guest traffic it's unbelievable. And I can't have this site grow on guests.

Admin - Uziman04

Mods - Ravenwolf, EclipseDragon
Latest topics
» Mens Fitness 2014
June 8th 2015, 5:35 pm by Guest

» Mens Fitness 2014
June 8th 2015, 5:35 pm by Guest

» Mens Fitness 2014
June 8th 2015, 5:34 pm by Guest

» Remove logon screen frame
August 18th 2014, 12:03 am by ItsTheRice

» Skyrim Modding on Consoles Should be Allowed
February 21st 2013, 12:51 am by Ravenwolf

» The Walking Dead Game
February 20th 2013, 11:10 pm by EclipseDragon

» Non-Stream Art
December 6th 2012, 1:03 pm by EclipseDragon

» Assassin's Creed III review
December 6th 2012, 4:17 am by ZaChiSonoNai

» Lucius The Game
December 6th 2012, 3:40 am by ZaChiSonoNai

» Greatest Game Villian
September 21st 2012, 4:39 pm by ZaChiSonoNai

Top posting users this month

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

Most users ever online was 10 on April 1st 2014, 11:00 am
Statistics
We have 95 registered users
The newest registered user is rashmigarden

Our users have posted a total of 528 messages in 111 subjects

You are not connected. Please login or register

Lord of Arcana Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Lord of Arcana Review on July 8th 2011, 12:15 am

EclipseDragon

avatar
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Monster Hunter has been a major hit for years due to its multiplayer and epic battles. God of War is known for its brutal kills as Kratos dismembers an enemy with his bare hands. Square Enix has apparently noticed these things, because this game is a hybrid of Monster Hunter, God of War, and Final Fantasy all on it's own.

When I first saw this game, I wasn't sure if I was gonna like it or not. Then a bought a used one and if I didn't like it, I'd return it for something else. After a few minutes of playing, I ate a bunch of my first words.

Plot: 8.5
A all-powerful king has vanished, leaving behind the power to claim monsters souls for your own purpose. You give up everything, (You are nearly maxed out in the beginning, I am not kidding) after proving yourself worthy to try and claim the power.

Originality:4
Monster Hunter concept with a few twists, God of War brutal finishes, plus a hack-n-slash system. Not it's greatest point. I even think they tried to make a variation of the moogle...

Sound:8.5
I wouldn't call it completely original, but it can really set the mood. Sound effects are alright. It doesn't get annoying, but people might have different opinions.

Graphics:7.75
I've got mixed emotions on this topic. They are a step below Monster Hunter standard, so that's where it took a hit. Even character customization is limited. However, the way it moves is different. The game flows like a combination of Final Fantasy, Monster Hunter, and God of War, especially in the God of War-like button sequences (I'll say why in the Final Score). I'll state my opinion on gameplay later on.

Features: 8.5
DLC is going to be released soon. It supports 4-player lan, like Monster Hunter. BUT, unlike MH, you are given a lottery, more options when fighting as a team (item sharing and bringing defeated friends back to the fray), and even getting some major help on single player mode, and eve the lottery.

Support: 8
The game runs smoothly with no lagging. You can download Data Install in about 3 minutes, same with the on-disc demo. Again DLC is coming soon, but PSN might still be having problems. The game is for PSP only.

Final: 8.25
Sure it may not add up. The results are probably varying. However, it has potential. Some bosses are extremely fun/challenging, yet it has a chance to get old once you are super-powerful. Other times you are against completely overpower oppenents. Monster Hunter has had modest reviews, yet it is still popular. This game almost nailed it. Square Enix may not of put time in this game, which would explain why it seems limited, but it is good. I hope they try to make it better in the future. The gameplay is amazingly fluid, and you can even use Kratos kills (called 'Coup de Grace' in here) to dish out pain on other enemies (they still haven't gotten old). But so far, the boss battle finales are what really takes the cake:

You have not LIVED until you have seen your character, with a single sword, kill the legendary Bahamut with the grace of a swan and the brutality of Kratos when he has lost all reason and just goes on a rampage that threatens everything in its path.



Last edited by Eclipse on August 4th 2011, 4:14 pm; edited 1 time in total


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Memento Mori

"Remember your mortality."
"Remember you will die."
View user profile

2 Re: Lord of Arcana Review on July 8th 2011, 7:19 pm

Sounds like a sweet game too bad I don't own a PSP Razz lol. BTW is it made by Japanese developers? Just wanna know before I get a game with a main character that I can't discern from guy nor girl.

PS- Your computer's been done for ages-- PM me


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

...You've got to ask yourself one question: "Do I feel lucky?" Well, do ya, punk?

I aim to please... Although, you should know ahead of time that I don't aim very high.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] ~|~ [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] ~|~ [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
View user profile

3 Re: Lord of Arcana Review on July 19th 2011, 7:10 am

EclipseDragon

avatar
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Th3 B@ckd00r wrote:Sounds like a sweet game too bad I don't own a PSP Razz lol. BTW is it made by Japanese developers? Just wanna know before I get a game with a main character that I can't discern from guy nor girl.

It might be, but don't worry. As with Monster Hunter, you get to create your own avatar, boy or girl. However, customization is limited, so you have to rely on equipment, which has more variety. Plus, the kills are scrpted based on what weapon you wield, so if you're bored of killing with one weapon, change it.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Memento Mori

"Remember your mortality."
"Remember you will die."
View user profile

Sponsored content


View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum